top of page

The Surreal


According to Webster's Dictionary, "surreal" is defined as "marked by the intense irrational reality of a dream; also : unbelievable, fantastic". I love that. It sounds just like magic to me.

We all have bucket lists, even if they are informal and just in our mind. A couple of years ago, I began to check off the boxes of mine. Several situations in my life had changed and it seemed as good a time as any.

This past week I was able to check off another. I can't say anything about it until January when it's formally announced, but it's the biggest thing I've ever tried to do that's magic related. And the months leading up to it are scary as can be.

The moment I found out about it last week could only be described as "surreal". This week as I began the early preparations for what is to come next Spring, there were several "surreal" moments. When things kick off in earnest in a couple of weeks behind the scenes, it will be "surreal".

And I am loving every surreal moment of it all. Every unbelievable, fantastic moment is wonderful.

But it only happened because I put forth an effort and tried knocking on a new door, so to speak. It went from something I'd been wanting to do for years to something I am about to do. The scary part was facing the moment when everything hinged on someone else's approval of my idea. I thought it had merit, but did it really or was I just deluding myself?

Just like Indiana Jones in "The Last Crusade", I stepped out onto nothing and found solid footing. It was by the grace of God the timing was right and I met the right person willing to help see my project come to light in the best way possible.

Now I'm challenging you, dear friend, to do the same. Think about something you'd really love to do in your life, something you'd love to look back on a year from now and say "I did that!". Now what would you have to do to make that happen? Some items are easy to check off and just require courage. Some items are harder and require training or a new skill set. But the fact is, they are all just waiting to be checked off the list if you are willing to put forth the effort to try.

Walt Disney said, "The way to get started is to quit talking and begin doing." Challenge yourself today. Try. You just might find yourself stepping into a surreal moment.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page